NEW HORIZONS CHARTER SCHOOL SOCIETY **MINUTES**

Type of Meeting: SGM Initials: Chair Date: October 4, 2023

Approved: Final Recorded by: A. DeJong Secretary

October 4, 2023, 7:00 p.m.

Board Members Present at Call to Order:

Dan Hanson Jason Clarke Vincent Tong **CHAIR** VICE CHAIR SECRETARY AND TREASURER

Michelle Smith Kristie Derkson **DIRECTOR DIRECTOR**

Administration Present:

Terry Moghrabi SUPERINTENDENT Patti Dundas Lori Vigfusson SECRETARY-TREASURER PRINCIPAL

Society Members Present:

Marisa Araujo Adam Asquini **Amanda Bullion Brianne Davio** Jason Davio Angela DeJong Janice Dinel Andrea Emberley Crystal Ewasiuk Sarah Fairfull Kim Fehr Faye Freeman **April Gervais** Ellen Hanna Richard Hanna Allison Joly Eekash Kohli Adam Koziak Rebecca Koziak Chelsee Ladouceur Andre Ladouceur Sarah-Jane Lovgren Shayel MacKinnon Elizabeth Macve **Tony Matos** Trevor Panas **Amanda Panas** Terry Reutow Anita Sanderson Raena Schindel Malcolm Smith Cheryl Soucy Stacey Stang-Sass Michelle Stephens John Summers Savanna Sweetman **Erin Thomas** Jih-Yiin Wang Andrea Watson

Shaun Wilde Hayley Tarnasky William Watson

Rosalynd Zalewski

1. Call to Order

Chair Hanson called the meeting to order at 7:02 pm.

NEW HORIZONS CHARTER SCHOOL SOCIETY MINUTES

Type of Meeting:	SGM	Date:	October 4, 2023	Initials:	Chair
Approved:	Final	Recorded by:	A. DeJong	Secretary	

2. Statement of Territorial Acknowledgment

The Board of Directors of the New Horizons Charter School Society respectfully acknowledges that the land on which we meet is Treaty 6 territory, a traditional home, gathering place, and travelling route for diverse Indigenous Peoples, including Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Nakota, and Sioux, as well as the homeland of the Métis Nation. We recognize our responsibility as Treaty members and honour the heritage and gifts of the First Peoples of this land.

3. Adoption of Agenda

Motion 2023-10-04-01 Moved that the agenda for the Special General Meeting

October 4, 2023, be adopted as distributed.

Moved: Director Smith Seconded: Vice Chair Clarke

Carried

4. Statement of Quorum

Membership as of the date of Notice of Meeting (September 13, 2023) stands at 253 members and 51 members attending. Quorum reached.

5. Approval of Minutes

5.1 Minutes of Annual General Meeting of November 23, 2022

Motion 2023-10-04-02 Moved that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of

November 23, 2022 be approved as presented.

Moved: Director Smith Seconded: Vice Chair Clarke

Carried

6. Election of Board of Directors

Chair Hanson made opening remarks and thanked Board members for their efforts throughout their terms on the Board, further acknowledging the Directors whose terms have ended.

Chair Hanson requested that Superintendent Moghrabi assume the role of Chair for the remainder of the Special General Meeting.

NEW HORIZONS CHARTER SCHOOL SOCIETY MINUTES

Type of Meeting:	SGM	Date:	October 4, 2023	Initials:	Chair
Approved:	Final	Recorded by:	A. DeJong	Secretary	

The meeting was advised of four (4) vacancies on the Board of Directors. Each of the vacancies are two-year terms as outlined in the agenda package.

Seven completed nomination forms have been received. Seven of these nomination forms meet the Society membership requirements (must be a member in good standing on the date of Notice of Meeting, September 13, 2023).

Superintendent Moghrabi listed the seven eligible nominations received as follows:

- Adam Asquini
- Kristie Derkson
- Praveen Kakkan
- Adam Koziak
- Tony Matos
- Trevor Panas
- Michelle Smith

As fewer positions are available than nominations received, no nominations from the floor were accepted. Nominees were each given the opportunity to briefly introduce themselves and share their interest in joining the Board of Directors.

Superintendent Moghrabi explained the voting process.

Upon completion of voting, the ballot boxes were removed and taken to district office for validation and counting by Patti Dundas and Angela DeJong, identified as tabulators by the Board.

Superintendent Moghrabi shared the results of the vote. The following nominees were declared as successful and elected to the Board of Directors:

- Adam Asquini
- Kristie Derkson
- Adam Koziak
- Trevor Panas

Acting Chair Moghrabi relinquished Chair duties to Chair Hanson.

7. Adjournment

Superintendent Moghrabi adjourned the meeting at 7:57 p.m.

Next meeting of the Board of Directors will be October 4, 2023, immediately following the Special General Meeting.